ABOUT US, OUR COMMITMENT AND OUR VALUES

THE FOUNDERS

Mr Ansari Zahir comes from a family of textile manufacturers in New Delhi. After graduating from the University of New Delhi with a degree in textile engineering, Mr. Ansari left the Indian capital. He started his career as a quality manager in international Indian textile companies. He worked in cities such as Bangalore and Indore in India, Kathmandu in Nepal, and Colombo in Sri Lanka, before coming to Lyon.

And it is here that he will meet Sarah. Italian-Canadian, with a British mother and an Italian father, Sarah grew up near Venice. Sensitive to multiculturalism, thanks in part to her family's eclecticism, Sarah loves languages, is fascinated by distant cultures and loves the Italian Renaissance. From an early age, she developed a deep desire to discover the world. India in particular has always fascinated her. This passion was passed on by her maternal grandfather, who spent several years in Rajasthan in the service of the British Crown. Having opted for a career in the luxury hotel industry, Sarah travelled the world before discovering Lyon in 2001. Her meeting with Zahir led her to settle permanently in the city of Gaul in 2002.

Based on their mutual professional experiences, Sarah and Zahir founded Ansari Cachemire in 2013. Aware of the tremendous sensitivity of the people of Lyon for textile crafts, they opened their shop in the heart of Lyon in 2014.

WHAT DRIVES THEM

First and foremost, the desire to promote the know-how of the craftsmen of the Kashmir valley. And more particularly, their talent in the making of stoles and shawls in real pashmina. A natural fibre whose true origins are still often unknown. By collaborating exclusively with three families of craftsmen from Srinagar, in Indian Kashmir, and Kathmandu in Nepal, Sarah and Zahir are supporting the crafts of these regions. The emphasis is placed on respect for human beings, as well as on maintaining a sustainable, fair and supportive dynamic. 

OUR PHILOSOPHY

Ansari Cachemire honours the know-how of the Nomadic Shepherds of Ladakh as well as the craftsmen of the Kashmir Valley, specialists in the precious and rare Pashmina fibre. 

Our house collaborates closely with two families of Artisans, whose workshops are located in the city of Srinagar, capital of the state of Jammu & Kashmir, India.

Women and men who passionately perpetuate the tradition of their ancestors, concerned about a job well done, the transmission to future generations and the preservation of heritage.

OUR VALUES

In September 2017 the Ansari house receives the accreditation from

« THE ASPEN INSTITUTE ALLIANCE

a non-profit association sponsored by Hillary Clinton, which works for the development of craft businesses around the world.

OUR SOCIAL COMMITMENT

Since June 2018 Ansari Cachemire has been providing regular financial support for the schooling of the poorest children in Ladakh. Thus, through the association

FRANCE HIMALAYA TIERS MONDE

our house participates in the school fees of the Lamdon Jamyang Primary School, inaugurated in Khalsi (Ladakh) by the Dalai Lama in 2010.

NOUS, NOTRE ENGAGEMENT ET NOS VALEURS

LES FONDATEURS

Monsieur Ansari Zahir est issu d’une famille de fabricants du secteur textile originaires de New Delhi. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme d’ingénieur textile à l’université de la capitale indienne, monsieur Ansari a quitté cette dernière. Il  entame ainsi une carrière de responsable qualité au sein d’entreprises textiles indiennes d’envergure internationale. Il est alors amené à exercer sa profession dans des villes telles que Bangalore et Indore en Inde, Katmandou au Népal, ou encore Colombo au Sri Lanka, avant de découvrir Lyon.

Et c’est ici qu’il fera la connaissance de Sarah. De nationalité italo-canadienne, de mère britannique et de père Italien, Sarah grandit près de Venise. Sensible au multiculturalisme, grâce notamment à l’éclectisme de sa famille, Sarah aime les langues, est fascinée par les cultures lointaines et adore la Renaissance italienne. Dès son plus jeune âge, elle développe un profond désir de découvrir le monde. En particulier, l’Inde l’a toujours fascinée. Passion transmise par son grand-père maternel, ce dernier ayant passé plusieurs années au Rajasthan, au service de la Couronne Britannique. Ayant opté pour une carrière de professionnelle de l’hôtellerie de luxe, Sarah arpente le monde avant de découvrir Lyon en 2001. Sa rencontre avec Zahir la conduira à s’installer définitivement dans la cité des Gaules en 2002.

Forts de leurs expériences professionnelles mutuelles, Sarah et Zahir fondent Ansari Cachemire en 2013. Conscients de la formidable sensibilité des Lyonnais pour l’artisanat textile, ils ont ouvert leur boutique au cœur de Lyon en 2014.

CE QUI LES ANIME

Avant toute chose, la volonté de valoriser le savoir-faire des artisans de la vallée du Cachemire. Et plus particulièrement, de leur talent dans la confection d’étoles et de châles en véritable pashmina. Une fibre naturelle dont les origines véritables sont encore souvent méconnues. En collaborant exclusivement avec trois familles d’artisans de Srinagar, au Cachemire Indien, et de Katmandou au Népal, Sarah et Zahir s’inscrivent dans une démarche de soutien de l’artisanat de ces régions. L’accent est mis sur respect de l’humain, ainsi que sur le maintien d’un dynamique durable, équitable et solidaire. 

Notre Philosophie

Ansari Cachemire met à l’honneur le savoir-faire des Bergers Nomades du Ladakh ainsi que des Artisans de la Vallée du Cachemire, spécialistes de la fibre précieuse et rare de Pashmina. 

Notre maison collabore étroitement avec deux familles d’Artisans, dont les ateliers se trouvent dans la ville de Srinagar, capitale de l’état de Jammu & Kashmir, en Inde.

Des femmes et des hommes qui perpétuent avec passion la tradition de leurs ancêtres, soucieux du travail bien fait, de la transmission aux générations futures et de la préservation du patrimoine.

Nos Valeurs

En Septembre 2017 la maison Ansari reçoit l’accréditation de

« THE ASPEN INSTITUTE ALLIANCE »

association à but non lucratif parrainée par Hillary Clinton, qui oeuvre pour le développement des entreprises artisanales dans le monde.

Notre Engagement Social

Depuis juin 2018 Ansari Cachemire apporte son soutien financier régulier à  la scolarisation des enfants plus démunis du Ladakh. Ainsi, par le biais de l’association

« FRANCE HIMALAYA TIERS MONDE »

notre maison participe aux frais de scolarité de l’école primaire Lamdon Jamyang School, inaugurée à Khalsi (Ladakh) par le Dalai Lama en 2010.