PASHMINA
GEOGRAPHICAL ORIGINS

LADAKH

The fiber of Pashmina has its origins in the Indian CHANGTHANG region. 

The latter occupies the southern part of the Union Territory of LADAKH and is located south-east of its capital LEH.

The Indian region of Changthang represents the western extension of the Tibetan plateau of the same name. Covering an area of about 98,000 km2, Ladakh has about 135,000 inhabitants.  

Over the centuries, many Tibetans have settled here (especially in the central and eastern parts). They are basically divided into two groups, the Changpa herders and the sedentary Tibetans. 

The former, whose tents can be seen in the middle of large arid expanses, are nomads. They have been breeding the famous Pashmina goats since at least the 8th century. The latter are settled in villages along the rivers. 


LITTLE TIBET

Also known as "Little Tibet", Ladakh is a vast cold semi-desert region of the Indian Peninsula. One of the highest inhabited plateaus in the world. This remote region is the repository of a myriad of cultural, religious and linguistic influences from mainland India, Tibet and Central Asia.

It is dominated to the north by the Karakorum Mountains and to the south by the Himalayas.

A majestic region where, among other things, grandiose mountains and cold deserts, snowy peaks and sky-blue lakes rub shoulders, huge valleys and glaciers among the largest in the world, after those of the polar region.

 In short, a region where the impressive landscapes teach us humility and invite us to contemplate. 

AN UNREACHABLE REGION...

Located at an average altitude of 5,300 metres, the winters are long and harsh and consequently record negative temperatures three months a year, from December to February (up to -30° in Kargil and -50° in Dras). 

In this arid region, swept by icy winds, rainfall is relatively scarce (about 50 mm per year). Rivers, waterfalls and lakes freeze over and the icy, crystalline water vapour transforms into a multitude of elaborate shapes. 

Polar temperatures, layers of ice and frequent snowfall make this part of the world particularly inhospitable and inaccessible from October to May. On clear, sunny days, when temperatures rise above 20°, the sun is scorching. In addition, the aridity and lack of rainfall result in sparse vegetation and a desert landscape that is regularly hit by sandstorms.   

... BUT NEVER ISOLATED

The main waterway in Ladakh is the Indus River, one of the seven sacred rivers of India, which gave the river its name, and whose source is at Mount Kailas in Tibet.

Ladakh also has the country's largest natural lake, Pangong Tso. With its 150 km long and 4 km wide, crystal clear water, and a thousand shades of blue, the lake is a natural treasure at an altitude of 4,250 metres.

Despite its geographical position and inaccessibility, Ladakh has never been isolated, notably thanks to the commercial links established over the centuries with the neighbouring regions of Kashmir, Himachal, Tibet, Central Asia and Sinkiang.

With its secluded monasteries, picturesque hamlets, clean air and serene atmosphere Ladakh possesses an immaculate beauty that inspires respect.

PASHMINA
LES ORIGINES GEOGRAPHIQUES

LE LADAKH

La fibre de Pashmina trouve ses origines dans la région Indienne du CHANGTHANG. 

Cette dernière occupe la partie méridionale du Territoire de l’Union du LADAKH, au sud-est de sa capitale LEH.

La région du Changthang représente l’extension occidentale du plateau tibétain du même nom. Bien que sa superficie soit d’environ 98 000 km2, le Ladakh ne compte que 135 000 habitants. 

Au fil des siècles, de nombreux Tibétains se sont installés ici (notamment dans les parties centrale et orientale). Ceux-ci sont essentiellement divisés en deux groupes, les bergers Changpa et les Tibétains sédentaires. 

Les premiers, dont les tentes sont visibles au milieu de grandes étendues arides, sont nomades. Ce sont eux qui élèvent les célèbres chèvres Pashmina depuis au moins le 8e siècle. Les derniers sont installés dans des villages le long des rivières. 


LE PETIT TIBET

Egalement appelé le “Petit Tibet”, le Ladakh est une vaste région semi désertique froide de la Péninsule Indienne. De fait, un des plus hauts plateaux habités du monde. Or, cette région reculée est dépositaire d’une myriade d’influences culturelles, religieuses et linguistiques de l’Inde continentale, du Tibet et de l’Asie centrale.

Elle est dominée au nord par les montagnes du Karakorum et au sud par la chaîne de l’Himalaya.

Une région majestueuse où se côtoient entre autres, montagnes grandioses et déserts froids, sommets enneigés et lacs bleu ciel, immenses vallées et glaciers parmi les plus vastes au monde, après ceux de la région polaire.

 En résumé, une région où les paysages impressionnants nous apprennent l’humilité et nous invitent à la contemplation. 

UNE REGION INACCESSIBLE...

A une altitude moyenne de 5300 mètres, les hivers sont longs et rudes et enregistrent par conséquent des températures négatives trois mois par an, de décembre à février (jusqu’à -30° à Kargil et -50° à Dras). 

Dans cette région aride, balayée par des vents glaciaux, les précipitations sont relativement rares (environ 50 mm par an). Les cours d’eau, les cascades et les lacs gèlent et la vapeur d’eau, glacée et cristalline, se transforme en une multitude de formes élaborées. 

Les températures polaires, les couches de glace et les chutes de neige fréquentes rendent cette région du monde particulièrement inhospitalière et inaccessible d’octobre à mai. Par temps clair et ensoleillé, lorsque les températures dépassent les 20°, le soleil est brûlant. Par ailleurs, le taux d’aridité et l’absence de précipitations entraînent une végétation clairsemée et un paysage désertique régulièrement frappé par des tempêtes de sable.   

... MAIS JAMAIS ISOLEE

La principale voie navigable au Ladakh est la rivière Indus, une des sept rivières sacrées de l’Inde, dont la source se trouve au mont Kailâs au Tibet.

Le Ladakh possède également le plus grand lac naturel du pays le Pangong Tso. Avec ses 150 km de long et ses 4 km de large, son eau cristalline et ses milles nuances de bleu, le lac est de fait un trésor naturel à 4.250 mètres d’altitude.

Mais malgré sa situation géographique et son inaccessibilité, le Ladakh n’a jamais été isolé. Principalement en raison des liens commerciaux,  établis au fil des siècles, avec les régions voisines du Cachemire, de l’Himachal, du Tibet, de l’Asie centrale et enfin du Sinkiang.

Avec ses monastères isolés, ses hameaux pittoresques, son air pur et son atmosphère sereine, le Ladakh possède une beauté immaculée qui inspire le respect.